Society A.G.M. 2017

Tuesday 28th March 2017 at 9:53 AM

The Society's annual general meeting for 2017 was held on Monday 27th March in the Ashlawn Centre, Castlerea. It was very encouraging to see a good attendance at what is always an important meeting, but especially this year, as the Society faces into 2018, its 50th Anniversary. Coincidentally, the 2017 A.G.M. was held on the 49th anniversary of the opening night of the Society's very first show!

The following were elected to committee positions for the coming year:

President: Angela Webb
Chairperson: Mary Heaney
Vice-Chairperson: Frances Cooke
Secretary: Julie Mannion
Treasurer: Connie Gannon
P.R.O.: Joanne Jordan
  Julie Heaney
  Michelle Cooke
  Mary Reilly
  Clare Kelly
  Margaret Goodwin
  Olivia Walshe
Stage Manager: Noel Kelly
Wardrobe: Pauline Glynn


The following were elected to the selection committee for the 2019 show: Majella Flanagan, David Cooke, Derval Flynn & Niall Heaney. The Society's AIMS representatives for the 2017/2018 season are Majella Flanagan, Mary Heaney & Clare Kelly.

A number of topics were discussed on the night, among them finances, fundraising, scheduling of the show and celebrating the 50th anniversary.

The biggest announcement of the night was that of the 50th anniversary show, which was revealed to be TITANIC. It is hoped that the show choice will encourage those of all ages and abilities, along with past, present and new members, to get involved, both on and off-stage, and it is expected that a show of the quality of Titanic will be a very fitting way to mark 50 years of the musical society in Castlerea.

The Chairperson, Mary Heaney, thanked all for attending, before closing the meeting.