Two AIMS Awards Nominations For Jesus Christ Superstar

Monday 20th May 2019 at 11:13 AM

Yesterday, Sunday 19th May, saw the announcement of the 2019 AIMS Awards nominations in New Ross, Co. Wexford. The Society was delighted to hear that our production of Jesus Christ Superstar has been nominated in two award categories.

Shane Farrell has been nominated for the Best Musical Director award and the Society has been nominated for the Spirit of AIMS/Adjudicator's Special Award for "The atmospheric scene when Jesus is begged to heal the sick". These two nominations are wonderful recognition for the quality of work by all members of the Society in our recent production.

Shane was previously nominated for this award with Castlerea M.S. for Sister Act in 2015, and he has won this award for the past two years as Musical Director of his own group, Bravo Theatre Group, Loughrea. Shane is nominated alongside Mark Dougherty of Portadown Phoenix Players for Little Women and Dave McGauran of Malahide Musical & Dramatic Society for All Shook Up.

The Society was previously nominated for, and won, the Spirit of AIMS/Adjudicator's Special Award for our production of Cabaret in 2004. This year we are nominated alongside Birr Stage Guild for All Shook Up and Portadown Phoenix Players for Little Women. News of this nomination was especially well received, given that the scene in question involved input from so many people, particularly our director Peter Kennedy, our cast and chorus, and all those involved in costuming, sets, make-up, lighting and sound - it was truly a team effort!

Congratulations go to all other societies in the region who were named as nominees yesterday. We were also delighted to see that Linda Murray was nominated for the Best Female Singer award with Tullamore Musical Society. Linda played Deloris in our 2015 production of Sister Act. Also nominated was Emer Hartnett for Best Musical Director with Portlaoise Musical Society. Emer was Musical Director for our production of God Bless Archie Dean back in 2000.

The award winners will be announced during the annual AIMS Awards Ceremony, which will be held on Saturday 15th June in the I.N.E.C. in Killarney.